What's New


Servlet Polls

Mailing Lists

List Archives

Servlet Engines

Servlet ISPs

Servlet Tools


Online Articles

The Soapbox

"Java Servlet
Second Edition"

"Java Enterprise
Best Practices"

Speaking & Slides

About Jason

Advertising Info | ISP Reviews
Reviews for ISP: Lunar Pages

The following comments have been recorded for "Lunar Pages".

Average Overall Score: 1.6
Average Features Score: 3.1
Average Reliability Score: 1.3
Average Support Score: 1.8

[ Submit your own review ]       [ Back to the ISP list ]

Great except you need the following instructions

Date: July 14, 2003
Reviewer: Mickey Segal  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: N/A     Support: 4

In setting up a domain, everything seemed to work fine except for one glitch that was cleared up within a few hours after it was pointed out.

The chief bothers in setting up servlets were information problems. Lunarpages' documentation relating to servlets was sparse, with important information missing. Also, Lunarpages appears to have just one customer service person with detailed knowledge about servlets, who is not there 24 hours every day. However, this shortage of information can be fixed by a good list of relevant information, so here is what you need to know:

1. To get a URL of the form put your classes in /home/domainID/public-html/WEB-INF/classes. To do this you have to create the classes folder yourself. Something went wrong with the setup of my domain such that I was unable to create the classes folder. Lunarpages' servlet expert fixed this once he got my query.

2. To write a file from a servlet you need to specify the path to your file area. A good way to do this is using the getRealPath method, as in this example of writing a file to a file in a folder within "WEB-INF": fileWriter = new FileWriter(getServletContext().getRealPath("/") + File.separator + "WEB-INF" + File.separator + "files_i_wrote" + File.separator + "my_first_file.txt");

3. You can protect files and folders by specifying read/write/execute privileges. You can also turn off indexes for directories.

There was one other minor non-servlet problem with the Lunarpages setup. The welcome e-mail from Lunarpages spelled out your password twice in the message. This is a security risk and should not be sent in an e-mail. A simple workaround is to save an edited copy of the e-mail and trash the original.

I haven't been using Lunarpages long enough to assess ISP reliability but there have been no problems so far.

DO NOT use LunarPages for a Java account

Date: February 11, 2004
Reviewer: Bryan Thompson  
Overall: 1     Features: 3     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

I was with LunarPages for over 1 year with a JSP/Servlets account. I never had a problem with them until they started a new plan called Enterprise in Dec 2003. Within 2 weeks of them announcing that plan, people on LunarForums started complaining that they were getting kicked off their accounts by Tech Support saying that they were "using too many resources".

This week, which was 6 weeks after I just paid for 1 more year of hosting, I got the same email. They gave me 24 hours notice to "upgrade my account or be kicked off".

Seeing that I was being held hostage and not wanting the pain of switching, I sent an email to go ahead and upgrade me - even though it was $480 per year - which is a lot more than the $95 per year I was paying. But I said in the email that I wanted to know what resource I was using too much of - was it memory, disk space, CPU, MySQL connections, or what?

Well, guess what? 24 hours later my site was DEAD! I called their number repeatedly and finally got someone to answer the phone today. I explained my situation and was politely told - Hey look we do not really want your Java account. We have 37,000 accounts and the Java accounts take up too many resources on our servers. There is no chance we will reconnect you unless you upgrade your account. I asked what resource I was using too much of and was told that he could not tell me. He was just sure that I had to upgrade to get reconnected.

How nice! I even emailed the owner Max and he never emailed me back. Guess he was too busy counting the money from the refund he will not give me since I was just past the 30 day refund period.

So let this be a warning to anyone who wants to host a Java account with - you WILL BE kicked off right when they want more money from you.

Check out notes about the Dagmar server on and you will see more details of what I am talking about. Just search on DAGMAR which is the name of the new Enterprise server and you will find the posts.

Just so you know, I checked my logs every day and I NEVER got anywhere close to the limit they advertise on disk space or bandwidth. These guys just want to take your money and cause misery when your site gets pulled with no recourse.

Bottom line - look elswhere and save yourself the headache down the road.

Today I am trying to find another ISP to move my account to.

Thanks to this forum on I am getting great info, so I want to share mine with you too so you can know more than I did when I started this whole Java hosting process.


Date: August 28, 2004
Reviewer: Max  
Overall: 1     Features: 3     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

I personally don't know how these people manage to stay in business. One positive thing I can say about this service is that they have a large number of features. Unfortunately everything is ridiculously buggy. Hardly anything works well in their web based control panel.

Their tech support is even worse than the bug infested features. It is like the people who respond to questions don't even work for the company because half the time, they don't seem to know what they are talking about and seem to show a very shallow understanding of their own features.

The old saying, "you get what you pay for" definitely applies to this company. You wont pay much and you wont get much.

Hosting gets cancelled if you change your contact e-mail address

Date: September 22, 2004
Reviewer: Name Withheld  
Overall: 2     Features: 5     Reliability: 2     Support: 2

The biggest problem I've found with Lunarpages is that their systems are thrown together in a sloppy way and they are either clueless about what that does to the user or they don't really care. An example:

Their Web interface has a prominent field for managing the domain contact address. If your address changes and you change it in this field Lunarpages does not register this in their separate administrative database, and the Web interface gives no clue there is a separate administrative listing.

Here is how this goes wrong when it is time to renew the service: they send you an e-mail at your defunct administrative address. You don't receive their e-mails at the defunct address (even though you changed your contact address using their Web interface) so Lunarpages cuts off your domain with no notice other than more e-mails sent to the defunct address.

What is particularly irritating is that Lunarpages refuses to send postal mail before cutting off your domain if e-mails to the defunct address bounce. Their explanation for sending word only by e-mail is "we are an internet company". Also, they refuse to send a copy of the e-mail to the new address that you entered in the Web interface.

The only way their system works if you change your e-mail address is if you guess that they have a second administrative listing for your address and you call them up to change that address in addition to the change you made in the address in their Web interface. Otherwise your domain gets shut down because you did not respond to e-mails sent to an address you thought you had changed.

Feature packes, too bad none of them work

Date: December 20, 2004
Reviewer: Chris  
Overall: 1     Features: 4     Reliability: 1     Support: 2

After a two month long setup process, that ended with an email offering me a "pro-rated refund" because my application occupied "200 % of CPU".

It's feature packed, but most of them dont work. I had problems with the control panel, the webmail, the jsps and servlets not compiling. After two months of telling them how to configure stuff on their servers, I resigned my subscription because the version of resin installed is buggy, and they wont upgrade or install workarouns.

Support will not answer your questions if they dont know the answer. Support redirects you to user forums. Email filters make many emails bounce.

Overall, it's a very bad ISP

Watch out-no payflow ssl support

Date: February 3, 2005
Reviewer: Mark Whitcomb  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 3

Signed up with them Nov 2004 bumped up to servlet support ppd for 1 yr static ip ppd for 1 yr then started to set up my e-commerce with verisign payflow java classes and got an e-mail that they don't support '...payflow java as resin does not directly handle ssl requests. Apologies for any inconvenience.'. Swell. Here it is Feb 3, my deadline was 3 days ago, and I'm hunting for a new host.

Not Recommended

Date: March 30, 2005
Reviewer: Jon Batcheller (Portland, OR)  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: N/A     Reliability: N/A     Support: 1

Be careful with these guys. I had problems setting up account, didn't get responses to email, and they charged my card and refused to refund even though the account was never logged into. Look elsewhere.

Terrible... just terrible

Date: April 23, 2005
Reviewer: Peter Bracken  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

Really an unbeleivably bad setup, take a look at the JSP forum for a list of what is not allowed on a JSP server. Basically frameworks and libraries of any kind. Anything beyond a simple JSP page is too much for the server.

I've only been with the company for six weeks and I've had downtime every day, then the send me the "using too many resources" email today and took down my site. Please don't use this company for hosting JSP webapps.

used to be okay - have gone WAY downhill

Date: July 12, 2007
Reviewer: Roberta Piket  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 3     Reliability: 2     Support: 1

Lunarpages used to be a reasonably good hosting option. Unfortunately their tech support has gone way downhill in terms of both competence and caring.

I received the famous Lunarpages "you are over system resources but we won't tell you what process is running over" message from tech support. Long story short LP deleted my blog even though the installation was up to date and they took days and days to respond (finally, very casually) to my frantic emails about it. They never did bother to get the files back for me, but I had a backup I had made myself after I stopped trusting them and imported it to my new web host on my own. They are horrible.

Home   com.oreilly.servlet   Polls   Lists   Archives
Engines    ISPs   Tools   Docs   Articles   Soapbox   Book

Copyright © 1999-2001 Jason Hunter
All Rights Reserved