What's New


Servlet Polls

Mailing Lists

List Archives

Servlet Engines

Servlet ISPs

Servlet Tools


Online Articles

The Soapbox

"Java Servlet
Second Edition"

"Java Enterprise
Best Practices"

Speaking & Slides

About Jason

Advertising Info | ISP Reviews
Reviews for ISP: Java Servlet Hosting

The following comments have been recorded for "Java Servlet Hosting".

Average Overall Score: 2.7
Average Features Score: 3.1
Average Reliability Score: 3.5
Average Support Score: 2.7

[ Submit your own review ]       [ Back to the ISP list ]

Good value, excellent email support

Date: July 20, 2003
Reviewer: Carl Hope  
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 4     Support: 5

Quick, automated set-up. Submitted request, including domain set-up, at 2pm Friday afternoon. Site available for set-up in 2-3 hours, DNS propagation complete in 24 hours. JVM is shared and restarted at 4am EST, although context will restart automatically if classes/jars are changed (need to be careful). Email support very good, even received responses on Sunday morning. Some decent automated tools and FTP support. Set-up does require some knowledge - not for the complete novice, but at the highly reasonable cost you can't expect to have your hand held.

Unable to run JSTL on their servers

Date: September 24, 2003
Reviewer: Mervyn  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 3     Features: 4     Reliability: 3     Support: 5

Good service, good response from support via email. Unfortunately they were unable to support our application's use of JSTL on their servers.

Support can be hard to get but technologies are fine

Date: April 13, 2004
Reviewer: Yisrayl Zadok Hawkins  
Overall: 3     Features: 4     Reliability: 4     Support: 1

Could not get a response from support, so I switched my hosting company. They still have one of my domains held hostage, and ignore my emails, so that I cannot transfer my domain. rocks

Date: April 19, 2004
Reviewer: Patrick L Archibald   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I've been using since August 2003 and I've been very pleased with all aspects of their service. Their servers are fast and support has been good. I highly recommend giving them a shot. Thanx, PLA

Support's been great!

Date: October 24, 2004
Reviewer: Brian Martin  
Overall: 5     Features: 4     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

Gotta agree with Patrick above. Support has been incredible (unlike what soemone else noted). We've got three active accounts with them now and we even moved one away (only due to a technology change for the client [decided to go .NET]), and there certainly wasn't a domain hostage-like thing going on - it was actually quite seamless (they actually helped us with something the new provider should have actually provided).

We asked them about the JSTL issue noted from 2003, and it turns out it had nothing to do with them really; it a was a bug in Tomcat 4.0 (we confirmed it on many searches via Google). Their current platform has no such issue as they use Tomcat 4.1.x now (and we're using JSTL without a hitch).

We're giving them a '4' on the features (only cause we are a bit irrational and always want more from any provider), but for everything else, they've been a solid '5'.

Outstanding for the Price

Date: December 16, 2004
Reviewer: Dave   (
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

Easy web purchase and setup, everything worked as advertised, support was helpful, (although Sales team never replied). Reliability has been very good, although occationally I have had trouble accessing the control panel.

There is one large drawback for developers. It does not support .war file deployment. This is because it is a shared Tomcat instance. I use the site for testing apps, and it is inconvenient to have to expand the war file then copy it each time.

But other than that, I give it high marks as a low cost site for deploying and testing JSP or servlets

Careful with these guys, they may destroy your credit

Date: January 17, 2006
Reviewer: Urgyen   (
Overall: 1     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 2

We did not have much problem with these guys, except when we decided we didn't want to use them anymore ignored their email notice to pay the bill for the NEXT three months. They canceled they account, and after just 20 days since they had sent the email invoice sent us another email telling us that they had referred our account to a COLLECTION AGENCY. There was absolutely no warning whatsoever.

Very restrictive

Date: February 12, 2006
Reviewer: Tom  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

They are very restrictive on what technologies you are allowed to use without making this clear.

I had my account terminated after a week as I deployed an application using Spring and Hibernate.

I am probably glad they did this so I could move to a decent service provider.

Comments to Last Reviews

Date: July 27, 2006
Reviewer: Sales Mainager  
Reviewer site:
Overall: N/A     Features: N/A     Reliability: N/A     Support: N/A

Regarding those last reviews: Both customers violated their contracts, for which they both stated they *read* and *agreed* to upon subscribing. We cannot be responsible for people that blindly enagage in contracts and ignore 'usage policies' and 'cancellation policies' for which they stated they both read and agreed to when subscribing to service. Our terms of service are quite standard and are similar to most service industry agreements including those one would encounter for simple cell phone service. We are a very fair and respected company in the industry; we never ask or direct customers to visit review sites like others (which is why you typically only see the very few bad apples posting for us). Our API/Framework exclusions are limited to those that are not designed to be deployed in a shared hosting environment; it is a bit naive to think all APIs and Frameworks can be deployed on hosting accounts for $15-$25. Many require dedicated servers with substantial RAM and CPU cycles.

We hope the operators of this facility have the decency to allow this post for fair assessment from both sides so as to not allow slanderous comments.

All Around Good Pick

Date: April 12, 2007
Reviewer: James  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 4

We haven't been with this host long, but we've been impressed with their features and have utilized both PHP and Java on our site. The support has been above average as well. Keep up the good work!

Unreasonable Usage terms

Date: October 12, 2007
Reviewer: Jeremiah Morgan   (
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 3     Support: 2

Make sure to read the terms of service. It does not allow simple open source frameworks like the very popular Hibernate and Spring and this information is buried in their usage agreement after hacking, spamming, and porn. The list is also subject to change at any time without notice for any application to make sure that it "isn't exceeding reasonable allowances and/or constraints of a shared platform", even though they don't specify what those allowances are. This results in a termination of your account without refund. Pretty poor customer service, slooow transfer speeds, and a tiring interface that sends one to too many pages for even simple tasks. It is cheap, but there are similarly priced plans out there with other companies and better service.

Regarding Usage Policy

Date: October 12, 2007
Reviewer: Sales Manager  
Overall: N/A     Features: N/A     Reliability: N/A     Support: N/A

Previous reviewers true complaint was that he simply didn't read a policy of what they weren't allowed to use on the service, even though the explicitly stated they both read and acknowledged it. Review then tried to compensate by making opinionated accusations: 1) "slow transfers" - we have multiple gigE connections to premium private backbone providers that are never anywhere near saturation - slowdowns are not occurring here, 2) "tiring interface" - our system is one of the fastest and most feature rich in the industry with most functions being just one click away, and we are one of the very few shared providers that provide you with context restart capabilities, and 3) "better service" - the customer was provided with exactly what he ordered, at no time ever requested any tech support, and when he requested cancellation, he received a response within 15 minutes (and contrary to his claim, he is receiving a refund, exactly as his terms of service stated). Every provider has bad apples.

Response to my own message

Date: October 12, 2007
Reviewer: Jeremiah Morgan   (
Overall: N/A     Features: N/A     Reliability: N/A     Support: N/A

They did tell me I would receive a partial refund, so I redact that statement from above.

However, it isn't an accident that someone uses Hibernate/Spring/etc. in their web application. They are not doing it underhandedly, but because they (or in this case I) did not read the usage agreement. It would seem in their best interest if they pointed this out a little better on their site instead of in legalese pages. It is obvious that someone would not sign up for their service knowing that spring/hibernate/etc. was not allowed, then try to use it. It just doesn't make sense from a customer relations standpoint. I'm not the first nor will I be the last I suspect.

I concur with the negative assessment on open source framework support

Date: March 21, 2008
Reviewer: Chris  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: N/A     Support: 1

I found the support staff eager to brush me off. The lack of support for open source frameworks is disturbing.

They were quick to refund my money, which made me happy.

Basic JSP/Servlets only, average support

Date: May 29, 2008
Reviewer: Robert  
Overall: 3     Features: 4     Reliability: 5     Support: 2

Hosted with these guys for 2.5 years and the service is exactly what they advertise but you cannot expand to anything beyond basic JSP and Servlets.

They sent email announcements about offering VPS, but it took them 7 months to get it as an actual package you could pucrhase.

Our mistake that we waited on them, month after month, to finally release the VPS, only to find that their price point was out of line, so we moved on to another ISP.

After having been with them for over 2 years we thought they would try to get us to stay when we cancelled but all they did was send a terse email asking where were we going to host with next. Seems like keeping customers is not a priority for them which seems consistent with other reviews.

We have been with Kattare for 3 months now and these are the most awesome Java hosts you could dream of. We had to call a few times to get set up correctly and the phone was answered by a very expereienced tech every time. You cannot find that in billion dollar companies.

So all in all, glad to leave JavaServletHosting and move to Kattare. Same money each month with incredible service.


Date: October 29, 2008
Reviewer: Richard Cutrer  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

Read user agreement carefully. They do not allow many popular open source frameworks and will send you nasty emails if you attempt to use one.

Can never get anyone to answer the phone.

Tech support is awful.

Price is average.

My full review is on

Rude Customer service, lack of support for Open Source (Spring, Hibernate)

Date: November 18, 2008
Reviewer: it  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

Recently, I was trying to deploy my first Software As A service application.I was looking for a provider and my friend googled and found Everything on the site looked fine. I immediately signed up and tried to set up my account. The experience was horrible and both technical abilities and customer service was really bad.

I signed up not knowing 'Spring' framework would not be supported. I mean a provider that hosts commercial applications and claims to be an expert on Java hosting should support the most commonly used Java Frameworks right ? Wrong !This was my mistake. But they could have been upfront about this on their site. After many hours of fire fighting and trying , i opened a ticket with them. they said i had violated my contract by using Spring in my application.

When i asked to cancel my service plan and followed up about a refund, they said a refund will not be issued as i was in violation. When i reminded them of the statement on their website .. Is there a 100% money-back guarantee? Try our service absolutely risk-free! If you wish to cancel your account for any reason within the first 30 days, you will receive a full refund for all base hosting fees. This is a no-questions asked, full refund, 100% money back guarantee of all base hosting fees. You have nothing to lose! This offer applies to the initial contracted term and does not include domain name registration or SSL certificates (external fees). If you took advantage of a special offer that gave you domain registration free, your refund will be less the posted cost for the domain registration"

This is the email i got

No, the termination request facility prompts for a termination request date, and you filled in the end date of the current billing cycle. Additionally, you are not eligible for the money-back guarantee as your account was already flagged for a breached of contract for violating your Terms of Service by deploying an API/Framework that was explicitly disallowed per your Usage Policy (which was presented to you twice during sign-up and for which you acknowledged as both read and agreed to). Your Terms of Service clearly stated:


Accounts utilizing more than 1GB of the allotted bandwidth or violating the Usage Policy within the first 30 days are not eligible for the money back guarantee.


Your negligent deployment of said violation caused an outage to other customers to which we had to compensate for the outage.

Here is another email from them.

The Usage Policy can be found on our website directly under the Terms of Service link.

On the first page of the order form, you are told to review the Usage Policy for API/Framework exclusions, and before submitting payment you are required to acknlowedge that you have both read and agree with the Terms of Service, which includes the Usage Policy. It is no fault of ours if you blindly engaged in service without reading the Usage Policy after being presented with it *twice* before being permitted to make payment. Spring is very commonly excluded on shared hosting platforms as it is not designed for such a platform, and we are one of the *very few* providers that actually tell you it is excluded UP FRONT. A deployment of it will only be viewed as negligence as it can and does negatively impact the service to others, and we therefore will not provide a refund for said act of negligence.

You were not bombarded with emails; you were sent an email at each stage of the account creation/setup process (as it noted would occur on our site), and ALL plans support FTP. An upgrade was not necessary to gain FTP capabilities (which you were told via support). Your FTP username/password were in one of those emails that were sent when you originally sign up for service. Again, failure to read the information is no fault of ours.


Final word : Stay away from them.

I soon found my new provider. They clearly state that Spring is supported on the first page

Their service is awesome. You can email them and they get back to you in 10 minutes. I highly recommend for your Java Hosting needs.

Been with these guys for 9+ years

Date: May 12, 2013
Reviewer: Eric Roubal  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 2     Features: 2     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

Stay away from javaServletHosting. They are a has-been and slowly dying.

Back in 2004, I went with javaservlethosting because where were small and felt home-townish. Back then, Java and Php was the only game in town. These guys rocked with both and actually helped me quite a lot early in my business stages.

However, those glory days are over. In the past 3 years, its obvious they are merely squeezing everything they can out of their obviously thin-margin business model. They have scaled back everything down to the bone. They have treated me personally very poorly after almost 10 years of payments and a lightly used website.

I have been paying manually the entire time. When I forget to pay (I pay quarterly), I pay the late fee with no complaint nor intention of malice. My last billing cycle, I requested to change my billing terms, but because I was in my typical 1-3 days-late, they gave me the big 'no way - you are late!'. Then I asked if I could go to month-to-month because I needed to port to Android and wanted to have options. Nope. Then I asked to pay for a month to have access to copy my code/db. Answer was no-way. I said, fine, give me access for 1 more day to copy my database and code and I'll go someone else. Nope. They didn't care and made that clear.

Should I have expected preferential treatment? Perhaps, no. But almost 10 years is darned long. My conversations with them eroded into fist fights. They could care less.

This was one of many incidents in the past 3 years indicative of poor customer support and respect . If you want anything resembling a helpful hosting partner, go somewhere else. Or, go with the really big outfits and set your expectations that literally everything is non-human and automated.

Home   com.oreilly.servlet   Polls   Lists   Archives
Engines    ISPs   Tools   Docs   Articles   Soapbox   Book

Copyright © 1999-2001 Jason Hunter
All Rights Reserved