Servlets.com

Home

What's New

com.oreilly.servlet

Servlet Polls

Mailing Lists

List Archives

Servlet Engines

Servlet ISPs

Servlet Tools

Documentation

Online Articles

The Soapbox

"Java Servlet
Programming,
Second Edition"

"Java Enterprise
Best Practices"

Speaking & Slides

About Jason

Advertising Info

Servlets.com | ISP Reviews
Reviews for ISP: KGB Internet Solutions

The following comments have been recorded for "KGB Internet Solutions".

Average Overall Score: 4.9
Average Features Score: 4.9
Average Reliability Score: 4.7
Average Support Score: 4.9

[ Submit your own review ]       [ Back to the ISP list ]


Good production environment. Cheap place to play and test!

Date: May 21, 2001
Reviewer: Matt  
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

KGB is a great development place. While their upload/download speeds are a little slow to run any major business or major download repository, it's a great place to play. Very friendly and most emails will be responded to personally within 24 hours. There's no SSL support but everything else is top notch. $20 Canadian gives you 20 emails, 100MB of space, database access, servlets, and your own JVM. Got to be one of the best places around to play and setup small sites.

(Update: They have added SSL, sped the net connection to 100 Mbps, offer up to 4GB of space and 8GB/month of bandwidth, depending on the package.)


Best Bang for Buck Around

Date: December 23, 2001
Reviewer: Alan   (alan@twelve71.com)
Reviewer site: http://www.twelve71.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 5

20 CAD per month gets me my own JVM. Keith has been EXTREMELY helpful in getting a webapp mor two off the ground, as well as CVS and CGI-BIN support. As a web newbie, his help has been invaluable in getting my little projects off the ground. Big Thumbs Up!

A little slow at times, but first-rate service, support, assistance, and above all flexibility and cooperation

Date: October 1, 2002
Reviewer: Ken Taylor  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 5

I have tried several hosts offering JSP. KGB Internet is the only one where the staff actually had a clue about what they were doing. I have placed several clients with their service and have always been happy with their ability to meet my at-times-unusual requirements.

The best choice in my...

Date: October 1, 2002
Reviewer: Giuseppe Deriard Nolasco   (gderiard@kgbinternet.com)
Reviewer site: http://www.teopra.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I would have liked having J2EE support in the Developer Package (with the same price :)) ), but everything is not possible in this life... :(

Excellent service for Apache/Tomcat/MySQL

Date: October 2, 2002
Reviewer: Keith Morgan   (jkm@paleogeek.com)
Reviewer site: http://www.paleogeek.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I've been using KGB Internet for two websites, one personal and one professional. Turnaround on requests has been extremely fast, assistance forthcoming when needed. Excellent service at an excellent price.

Excellent!

Date: October 7, 2002
Reviewer: Alex Chudnovsky  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

The best customer service I have come across to date. Would recommand KGBInternet to everyone!

Excellent Support

Date: December 1, 2002
Reviewer: Ian Brandon   (webmaster@exclusive-ecommerce.com)
Reviewer site: http://www.exclusive-ecommerce.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

Keith B. and his team have given us excellent support. We were looking for a 'tomcat host' who not only know their stuff - JSP's / servlets etc. but who also get back to you quickly with helpful answers. Kgbinternet have consistently met this requirement. We found the average response time is between 20 mins - 2 hours, and nearly always within 6 to 7 hours. The price is good, the service is good, we would recommend Kgbinternet to anyone looking for a reliable Java servlet host + excellent support. Visit our website !

Cheap, flexible, reliable

Date: December 2, 2002
Reviewer: Matt Boersma  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

KGB Internet Solutions has given me exactly what I needed: inexpensive email and webhosting, Apache, JSP, MySQL, PHP, really any tool I could need, and prompt, personal support. I'm knowledgeable about Linux and Apache, and nothing has stood in the way of me configuring things the way I need them. And it is invaluable having someone who is intelligent answer my questions and help with configuration. I've switched 2 domains to KGB and will use them for anything I have in the future.

Theest

Date: December 20, 2002
Reviewer: Mike Franek  
Reviewer site: http://www.mlr-enterprises.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

KGBInternet is simply the best. I have been with Keith for a little over 2 years now and have no problems! Where else in this world can you submit a question by email and get a response, usually within the hour. Customer support is A#1..

KGB Internet is great!

Date: January 14, 2003
Reviewer: Pat Wallwork  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 5

I started using KGB Internet a few months back as a new client already had a site hosted there. I was impressed with the set-up and the prices. As time went on I had some questions and emailed them to which Keith very promptly responded. The service is better than any other hosting company I've used and I'm very happy! Thanks KGB Internet :-)

very very good service, use this host!

Date: January 30, 2003
Reviewer: DWH  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I have used loads of hosts all around the world and keith beats the others by a mile. His service is second to none and he will go out of his way to help you with any problems or queries you may have. The actual facilities are good and very reasonably priced. I can't see myself using any other hosting companies in the near future. USE THIS HOST!

Service, Features and Uptime The whole package

Date: February 2, 2003
Reviewer: Robert S. Sfeir   (robert@sfeir.net)
Reviewer site: http://www.sfeir.net/
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I've been using KGB Internet for almost a year now. My site has never been down. Although I don't use the service just for my site, as much of my work is client work, I am able to get a full testing and development environment without having to maintain my own servers. Keith at KGB is responsive to all email inquiries and when something needs to get done, it's usually done within the hour.

I'm able to have a postgres server, app server to run jsp and php, cvs pserver and mail server from this service... what more can you ask for?

R


Good

Date: February 2, 2003
Reviewer: Roderick Lim  
Reviewer site: http://www.videoondisc.com
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

Good support and good Java ISP. Rates are good too.

KGB Internet Solutions is by far the best JSP provider on the net!

Date: February 10, 2003
Reviewer: Timothy   (Weaver)
Reviewer site: http://www.nutriaxis.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

KGB Internet Solutions is by far the best JSP provider on the net...bar none! Choosing KGB as your ISP provider will be your best business investment you will make with your online company. They have created a 5 star system that allows you to build and grow your company without all of the high costs and headaches that come with other ISP providers. Their ISP packages add money back into your pocket by saving you money. Some service providers might offer a lower cost, but many of them have hidden charges which will send your monthly ISP bill through the roof! With KGB you will get great service at a very affordable monthly price. I would highly recommend KGB Internet Solutions as your ISP.

Regards,
Timothy Weaver
Company Founder - nutriaxis.com


Awesome Support and great features

Date: February 14, 2003
Reviewer: Matt Raible   (matt@raibledesigns.com)
Reviewer site: http://www.raibledesigns.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I have been hosting my site (http://www.raibledesigns.com) at kgbinternet.com since May 2002. You can see that I've had a steady increase in traffic since then (http://www.raibledesigns.com/stats).

I am running an Open Source Weblog (http://rollerweblogger.org) that uses Struts, Castor, MySQL, and Velocity.

Keith has always responded to any support requests within an hour, and he's gone above and beyond my expectations to help me out and keep my site running.

It's also pretty slick that he allows me to upgrade Tomcat whenever I want - just keep the same ports. I started with the Bronze package, but had to move up to Silver b/c I got over 3 gigs of traffic last month! Keep up the great work Keith.

Matt


Excellent all round service!

Date: March 31, 2003
Reviewer: Derek Harvie   (derek@cubanmunich1664.com)
Reviewer site: http://cubanmunich1664.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I have been with KGB Internet Solutions for over six months now and I have been nothing but impressed with the both the customer service I am getting and the speed and reliability of the hardware too. It has to be one of the best ISPs out there for the price range on offer.

KGB and Keith are Fantastic

Date: July 9, 2003
Reviewer: Doug Ison   (doug@dougison.com)
Reviewer site: http://dougison.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I have been with KGB for a number of years and recommend it to anyone wanting a Java site. Support is EXCELLENT and Keith is very quick with the support. I am 100% satisfied and will be here for years to come.

What can I say, the best cheapest ISP that supports JSP/Servlets/MYSQL

Date: August 10, 2003
Reviewer: myinfodrum  
Reviewer site: http://www.myinfodrum.com
Overall: 4     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

The features are many and for the price you may wonder where is the catch? There is none! Try them, you can't loose!

Regards www.myinfodrum.com


Simply the Best Support/Features/Price

Date: December 27, 2003
Reviewer: Benjamin White  
Reviewer site: http://www.prayerlst.org
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

KGB Internet has everything you would want in a web host, all the current open technology, unbeatable support, lowest prices.

Affordable, reliable, knowlegdeable

Date: September 8, 2004
Reviewer: Matt Boersma  
Reviewer site: http://www.sprout.org/
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I've had two domains hosted with kgbinternet.com for about five years. I've seen almost no downtime. They are very affordable (the US->Canadian $$ conversion helps), and nearly always respond to my support requests within minutes.

Can't say enough good about them. Their forte is Java hosting, but I do all PHP+MySQL and some Python CGI, and it works splendidly.


Good ISP, I recommend it

Date: September 19, 2004
Reviewer: C. Enrique Ortiz  
Reviewer site: http://www.j2medeveloper.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 5

I have been happy w/ KGB internet since the beginning. I have used KBG Internet since 2001. Pricing is good. Reliability is good. And support is good. I have no complains. If you are looking for an ISP/hosting service, you should consider this one, especially if you want true Java-based hosting.

Comprehensive, inexpensive, reliable, flexible hosting

Date: September 23, 2004
Reviewer: Eric Giguere   (ericgiguere@ericgiguere.com)
Reviewer site: http://www.ericgiguere.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I run a Java-powered site and when I went looking for a hosting service I was very pleased to find KGB Internet Solutions. They offer great service at affordable prices, and I highly recommend them.

Friendly helpful staff and Tomcat 5.x

Date: October 12, 2004
Reviewer: Michael Guyver  
Overall: 5     Features: 4     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I was recommended KGB Internet solutions by a friend of a friend and have found it to be a very good JSP and servlet host. A full JBoss EJB hosting package is available but I can't comment on that, as I've only used the Apache 2, Tomcat 5 and MySQL services.

The staff are very friendly, updates to the server configuration are actioned pretty much as soon as the emails get to them. So far, no quibbles. Cheap, good, reliable service.


Relaible, responsive support, good value

Date: October 20, 2004
Reviewer: Herschel Hall  
Reviewer site: http://reedyriver.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

History/Experience: Used for last 6 months. Use Tomcat for JSPs/Servlets and PostgreSQL for RDBMS. (Both rock).

PRO's: Set me up in a few hours. Replied to emailed questions very quickly. Has not been down (that I am aware of). High availability Linux clusters appear to work well. My site has had good response. Has been a very good value. Experience so far is very good.

Cons: No operating manual for your site, but the initial emailed instructions were all I needed and they reply to questions quickly. If I had to choose, I would rather have quick response than a manual.


Excellant features and support

Date: January 19, 2005
Reviewer: Paul Taylor  
Reviewer site: http://www.jthink.net
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 5

After trying out to hosting providers without much success I tried KGBInternet.

I recently purchased the Silver Option which provides me with a full Tomcat 5 instance with MySql db that I can do anything with, it is an exact mirror of my local test site.

Had a couple of teething problems that they were very quick to sort out. I highly recommend this provider.


Quality Hosting and Quality Service, I Highly Recommend

Date: August 5, 2005
Reviewer: Mike Wannamaker   (mwannamaker@propertyspot.ca)
Reviewer site: http://www.propertyspot.ca
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

After trying to find a Java/JSP service provider that used technologies from this era I finally found KGB.

The packages are flexible and the service is one of the best I have ever seen. The response times to emails is extremely fast and always courteous and they are very flexible, changing any options I wanted very quickly.

I would highly recommend this provider if you are looking for Java/JSP/MySQL support.


One of the best of Java/JSP/MySQL support

Date: April 4, 2006
Reviewer: Bonnie Wannamaker   (bwannamaker@propertyspot.ca)
Reviewer site: http://www.propertyspot.ca/home
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

We have had a very positive experience with KGB. The offered feature set was exactly what we were looking for with a price that made it perfect. The high quality of and quick responsiveness of KGB's support staff is almost shocking. I can't imagine anything that would make me want to switch to another provider.

One of best J2EE hosting service - An exceptional value !!

Date: January 5, 2007
Reviewer: Jyot   (jyot.singh@gmail.com)
Reviewer site: http://www.mysafebox.com
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

All thanks to Matt Raible's blog, I came to know about KGB Internet. I got so tired of expensive J2EE hostings that I started learning PHP just because PHP hostings were cheap and easily available. Almost, every hosting service does PHP hosting. But this company changed all that, now I can create any application using latest techonologies without running into issues with older jdk versions. And if you are stuck, Keith is there to help you out. Keith - you rock !! I'll highly recommend this company to any one looking for a great Java home.

Superlative Service

Date: July 1, 2007
Reviewer: Alfred Ayache  
Reviewer site: http://lastbyte.ca
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I was very green when I hooked up with KGB in 2003. Keith has been a gentleman and a mensch every time I've dealt with him, holding my hand when I needed it, and tweaking the environment as necessary. Support requests are always dealt with promptly, even when they are unusual. Although I was looking to get into Java Servlets when I joined, I ended up using PHP/MySQL. KGB has kept me updated with the latest releases. In an age of faceless, sterile service, Keith brings a human touch to our industry.
Home   com.oreilly.servlet   Polls   Lists   Archives
Engines    ISPs   Tools   Docs   Articles   Soapbox   Book

Copyright © 1999-2001 Jason Hunter
All Rights Reserved
webmaster@ servlets.com